Every Quest Begins with a Question

Slide1It all begins with a call. What is the call? The call is a question.

What is the question? The words will vary but the meaning will always be the same. It goes something like this: what have I come here to do with my life?

Have you ever been asked? Have you heard that voice welling from within? Did you pay attention? Are you paying attention? This voice is important. It contains the seed of your purpose. Perhaps you tired to silence this voice, until it became a mere whisper, no less powerful nonetheless. Perhaps it became even more haunting.

“If you are brave enough to leave behind everything familiar and comforting (which can be anything from your house to your bitter old resentments) and set out on a truth-seeking journey (either externally or internally), and if you are truly willing to regard everything that happens to you on that journey as a clue, and if you accept everyone you meet along the way as a teacher, and if you are prepared – most of all – to face (and forgive) some very difficult realities about yourself… then truth will not be withheld from you.” – Elizabeth Gilbert

I know I tried to resist the call. For years, all I wanted was a simple and peaceful life. But no matter what I did I could find no peace. I wanted to conform. I wanted this voice to leave me alone, stop nagging me. When the vision of what was possible unfolded before me like a magic carpet, it was enthralling, but it was more than I could take. It was not my life; it was someone else’s life!

But the voice would not leave me alone. To embark on this path would require so much strength, so much sacrifice, so many tests, I knew that already. Thank you, but I’d rather just live a simple life. I’m not a hero, I would say to myself. I cannot do this. I don’t want to do this. But soon it became clear, that if I didn’t do it, a deep part of me that was yearning to surface and bloom would shrivel and die. Destiny persisted. And I finally accepted. And thus, the road of trials began and with it a transformation that gave my life a real meaning.

“If you can see your path laid out in front of you step by step, you know it’s not your path. Your own path you make with every step you take. That’s why it’s your path.” – Joseph Campbell

Everyone’s path is different but everyone has a path, a purpose. Your fate may knock on your door gently or if you bolt the door, it might sneak in through a crack in a window. As you turn your head and pretend not to see it, it grows in power and beckons on the periphery. It arises from the authentic core of your being. It is the crystallization of your yearning to step out and fully live, live your purpose. Take a risk. Open you mind. Hear that voice.

“Leap, and the net will appear.” – Julia Cameron

Leave a Reply

