Want Results? Grow Some Balls.

Black-3d-ballsThis morning as I was getting ready to get out of my place and start the day, I was listening to one of the coolest TED talks on my laptop. The talk was so cool in fact, and so well pertaining to my bubbling interests in the moment that I once it was over, I wanted more. So I started to click through this link and that, which led me to an article so great, I was compelled to share it. The article is called: The Simple Guide to Growing Some @#$%ing Balls. And it delivers exactly that.

You are of course welcome to skip my take on its contents and go directly to the source. Or both. The fact is that I have not much to add to the original because it is so good and stands on it s own. Below are just few scanty impressions, mainly to solidify the message in my own mind, i.e. motivate me to stop waiting for the perfect weather conditions and do more of what I love.

What struck me most about this post is the fact that unless we grow some balls, the world will never see what we carry inside. It will never have a chance to experience our contributions and therefore, the world will be poorer because it will be missing our gifts. Who knows, maybe what you carry inside can help someone else find their way? What if this whole inspiration/community connection thing is one big domino effect waiting to happen? Why wait or be a missing link?

I originally started writing my blog (link) because I wanted to motivate people to take action, taking ownership of their lives by spreading the message of daring to begin anew each day, beginning to live a life of dreams. I was the one who needed t hear this message, so I became my own preacher. Julien and I are clearly on the same page:

“The reason that I tell you this is to remind you, in absolutely every circumstance, what the consequences of having no balls actually is– a silent consequence because it is just an absence of results. But don’t let this persuade you that nothing is what was fated to happen. In fact, the opposite is true. Something is always possible– but rarely does it actually happen, because no one is willing to put in the fucking work!!!”

He also puts down the idea that occurred to me some time ago and made me so much less self conscious about doing uncomfortable things or making a complete fool out of myself. In other words – the idea that busts the fear. It is crazy simple and so obvious! It’s the very fact that we are all soon going to be dead anyway so who cares? Or if you prefer a bite size morsel of this truth, here it is: in an hour from now, or few days or weeks (if your deed was THAT impactful), no one will remember. But you will have grown some skin, some character and some balls.

In the words of Marcus Aurelius: “Forget everything else. Keep hold of this alone and remember it: Each one of us lives only now, this brief instant. The rest has been lived already, or is impossible to see. The span we live is small – small as the corner of the earth in which we live it. Small as even the greatest renown, passed from mouth to mouth by short-lived stick figures, ignorant alike of themselves and those long dead.”

Check it out. It is worth your time.

And if you like this post, please give me thumbs up : )

www.ewazwonarz.com

Leave a Reply

