On Writing

Slide02

This blog post is a part of a blog tour to which I was invited by Caroline Gerardo of  www.thelmadams.com.

Question #1:  What am I working on now?

I am currently working with my editor on finalizing and designing the cover for my first paranormal mystery novel titled Moonchild scheduled to come out in early autumn of this year. The book is written with the young adult audience in mind; however, I believe adults can enjoy it as well. It is a coming of age story that contains elements of the occult and dives into family dynamics. A short synopsis of the book is below. I am also wrapping up a draft of my second novel “Venus” to be launched in the spring of 2015. It is a stand-alone title, this time written strictly for adults.

Question #2:  How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I find the young adult paranormal mystery genre to follow a certain succession of story beats that can make the story somewhat predictable. In Moonchild I tried to get away from the typical love-triangles and instead include more of the mythic elements of a story – the hero’s journey.  With the main character partaking in a quest, the relationships become secondary, contributing to the journey, their sum becoming greater than the parts. It is the discovery of truth that ends up bringing the story’s hero back home, to a place of wholeness and resolution. I wanted to make the story bold and unconventional while at the same time relatable.

Question #3:  Why do I write what I do?

I write drawing from my own experiences and blending that with mythic archetypal stories. I like including contemporary themes as a base but also heavily drawing from our ancient legacies. I am heavily influenced by the Sumerian, Native American and Greek legacies, and it’s a thrill to connect the modern world with our mysterious past.

Question #4:  How does my writing process work?

I write at random intervals. I love opening my draft in the morning when my mind is fresh but still dwelling in that post-sleep state where remnants of my dream consciousness color my perception. There are days when it is easy to show up and find a flow. And then, especially after a longer break from writing, it can feel like a chore. This is when a bit of discipline goes a long way. I try to make the task relatively easy by setting a goal that will not be hard to accomplish. Sometimes, I just write about whatever is on my mind to move the energy and get the static off my mind. Once I find my thread, things usually start to flow. I also find movement, as in runs, hikes and dancing, highly conducive to literary inspiration.

Moonchild Synopsis:

In this coming-of-age tale, blending myth, mystery and the power of storytelling, we enter the world of fifteen-year-old seeker, Eve. Growing up in rural Poland, Eve’s small-town existence is radically transformed by a series of lucid dreams, influenced by the moon, in which she is exposed to Sariel, a fallen angel. Sariel’s cryptic messages, and demands for Eve to free him, draw her deeper and deeper into an ancient story of love, loss and redemption. Eve’s desire to heed the callings of her inner-life are confronted and challenged by family secrets and dysfunction, and her increasing alienation from her peers at school. Determined to find out who she really is, and the truth about her family legacy, Eve undertakes a quest, guided by a strange boy who calls himself Punk, in which dreams and reality merge and a buried past is brought out into the light.

If you are a writer and would like to be part of a blog tour, please send me a message!
Cheers,

EKZ

One thought on “On Writing

  1. Beautiful, helpful and soulful post. If you need photographs for Moonchild cover art- let me know what you are thinking, I have thousands of photographs. I would be happy to lend any for free. Ewa please edit your post to make your name larger, clearer, and link to where someone might purchase your book. Even though it isn’t out yet – assume someone might find this next year. Open an Amazon Author page and link to that as a start.
    http://carolinegerardo.blogspot.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

