No Gym? No Problem!

KerrJust got to Santorini from a week in Barcelona. I am here on my own and savoring the serene evening on the island I’ve heard so much about. Life is good. Truly.

After six days with my mom in the center of Barcelona and traversing the city in all directions, my body was starting to feel congealed, longing for more than just the left step-right step of walking. So I devised the workout below on the fly. I was amazed at how much energy my body had accumulated after five full days of rest, minus the walking. Eating a ton of bread, which in this part of the world is a dietary staple, I’m sure, helped fuel the fire.

So without any further due, below is the workout I did yesterday, in case you’d like to try. As you can see, she and I “lived” on the top floor of an apartment block during our stay, which helped with the design. Today I feel the sweet sensation of soreness in my back and legs.

 

HITT-ING BARCELONA

All Bodyweight Circuit

Repeat 3-5x (I managed 5, though the last one was much slower compared with the first). Minimal rest between sets, 1-2 minute rest between circuits; hydrate well!

Six stories downstairs, low knees, abs tight (or run in place for 1 min)

  • 30 mountain climbers
  • 15 deep squats
  • 20 narrow pushups, hands elevated
  • 15 lunges with back leg elevated
  • 20 triceps dips with crab kicks, hands on steps

Six stories up squeezing legs, abs and butt (or high knees for 1 minute)

  • 30 calf raises; 3 positions – out, straight and in
  • 20 side-to-side lunges
  • 15 forward lunges, each leg
  • 15 diagonal side leg kicks, each leg
  • 20 bicycle crunches
  • 15 jump squats
  • 15 wide pushups on the floor
  • 20 plank crunches – knee to elbow
  • 15 chair triceps dips

Did I forget something? Right – no excuses! You can do this anywhere with no equipment. Happy sweating! And sweat you shall : )

 

Leave a Reply

