Detox, Diets & More…

Blueberries-fruit-plate-tasty-healthy-meal

I want to share with you a recent email exchange I had with an ex-client of mine regarding nutrition you may find useful.

QUESTION:

How are you, my dear? How is the writing going?

I wanted to get some advice from you as far as food goes. I know you eat a vegan diet, correct? And, you’ve done mini fruit cleanses? I’m wanting to help detox my body and want to do an all fruit diet for 3-5 days. Do you think that is feasible? What should I be doing? I trust any advice you have for me!

Thank you,

Ellie

REPLY:

Hi Ellie Darling! Great to hear from you!

I’ve certainly explored a wide array of diets and detoxes over the years. One thing that keeps surfacing when doing all fruit diets is the sugar content that can be detrimental to your end goals. Also, long terms, this approach lacks balance, for obvious reasons. But, since you are thinking of doing this short term, this is what I would do.

Begin each day with a tall glass of water (good to make it a habit) and then follow with a glass (or two or three) of green juice. If you don’t have a juicer, make it a smoothie in a blender! I recommend kale, cucumber, celery, apple, and lime as a base and you can vary the contents as much as you want. Just make sure that the volume of fruit in the juice does not exceed 25-30%. That will get the detox revved up for the day nicely while flooding your body with vitamin, mineral and phytochemical goodness. If you want to add more fire to your metabolism while you do this, add a thumb of ginger.

Your next meal can be a fruit platter. Err on the side of fresh berries and medium sweet fruits in season. I’d finish my day with a huge raw salad topped with fresh hand made dressing. My fave: 1/3 avocado smushed in my hands and massaged into the leaves, pinch of sea salt and 1/2 orange squeezed into it. It’s delicious. My favorite salad base consists of chopped kale and romaine lettuce with diced cucumber. You can add chopped cilantro to help with heavy metal chelation. Super simple and super yummy. You should feel quite full eating this way and after a few days should notice clear differences in how you feel. The early days (esp. day 2 & 3 in my experience) may surface some rough bumps so don’t discount the possibility of detox symptoms such as headaches or flu surfacing. Those are not pleasant but quite normal.

Keep in mind that eating this way long term is unsustainable. Recently (for 2 months now), I’ve altered my diet to be that more of a mix of raw veggies and paleo. I’ve introduced meat and eggs back into my diet but only from the purest sources. I’ve eliminated all but two processed foods – unsweetened almond milk and one chocolate protein bar per day, though I am cutting that into half more often now. So basically I am eating as close to nature as possible. I’ve also changed my training and put on some serious lean muscle. This new diet clearly supports heavy duty training.

Let me know if you have further questions as you gear up for this and also with respect to breaking the cleanse to land in a good, sustainable place with a diet that resonates with you, is healthy but doesn’t make you feel deprived. It is a work in progress so don;t expect to nail it immediately. Experimenting is the key so make it fun! I recommend browsing though fitnessRX for Women site for recipe and training ideas as well and always reading up on new findings. If things get overwhelming, come back to this –  NATURE.

One thing is for sure – if we don’t clean our diet first, no matter how hard we train, we are wasting our time. Please also remember – slow and steady wins the race, so be patient and reward yourself with positive thinking and loving encouragement. Don’t go for a quick fix. Go for a lifestyle change. Finally, plan and prepare. It is much harder to make mistakes or give up when you already planned what to do. Jot it down : )

Enjoy the process Ellie and let me know how it goes!

Ps. I’ve recently been researching liver detox agents to improve my post workout recovery and sleep quality and came across combining glutathione (one of the most powerful antioxidants that assist the liver with processing toxins and helps remove them from the bloodstream) with activated charcoal, which acts like a vacuum cleaner sweeping up free floating toxins in the gut, binding to them and eliminating them. You may want to read up about it. Getting my supps today so the experiment can begin.

FOLLOW UP QUESTION:

Oh my gosh! So much great information. Thank you. And, posting the question & response to your blog is completely fine by me!

I’ve been interested in the Paleo aspect when it comes to fueling my body, but meat is a very huge block for me. I’m happy to eat a lot of veggies, fruit, and nuts. I just can’t quite stomach any eggs or meat. Any advice on approaching Paleo from a vegetarian aspect?

Again, thank you!

REPLY:

Hmmm, paleo while veggie definitely asks for a lot of creativity.

I would be vary with including too much soy and would shoot for more legume/bean balanced meals. I would make green veggies the base of my diet but keep fruit to 2-4 servings per day (one serving is about the size of a medium apple). Also, explore good quality protein powders for upping the amount. I found that it was much more challenging to put on and hold muscle while I was vegan but it’s not impossible. It just takes more awareness and planning. Sprouted nuts and seeds are also a good option but again, be vary of portions! The big thing with paleo is avoiding grains and anything human made, i.e. processed. So just stay as close to nature as you can to optimize your effects.

Wishing you all the best!

11 thoughts on “Detox, Diets & More…

  1. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in
    accession capital to assert that I get actually enjoyed account
    your blog posts. Any way I’ll be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

    Like

  2. Howdy! This article couldn’t be written any better! Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I am going to forward
    this article to him. Fairly certain he’ll have a good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

