Taking a HIIT

Hello Everyone!  After a long cyber absence, I decided to return to blogging about my workouts and diet.  I stopped writing for several reasons, the main one being that I simply did not stick with the 30 Day Tracy Anderson plan, as I hoped (I went up to day 22, I think) and while I contemplated to continue logging in my other fitness activities, goals, results and ever-changing styles, I simply fell off the blogging wagon…

So! Since last winter my diet got a major overhaul during spring when I decided to dive nose down into a raw food whole body cleanse.  For about two months that went from mid-April to early June, I ate mostly all raw vegan foods that included copious amounts of fresh fruits and veggies, green juices and some nuts.  The thing I loved about this diet was that I was able to eat and eat and as long as I chose low sugar, high water foods, I would not gain any weight.  For my exercises, I pretty much retired my gym and instead focused on hot vinyasa yoga and hill hiking about 4-5 times per week.  That worked for me up to a point…

In mid-summer, I noticed I was starting to lose some muscle mass.  In addition, I craved protein so I switched again, went back to the gym and started pounding weights and having the occasional fish (starting with salmon sashimi), some tofu and once in a great while sliced turkey breast. My fruit intake was still high so I experienced all sorts of bloating from the mix. I decided to cut on the berries then.

Enter July.  I broke my elbow : (  Three excruciating months of limited activity followed.  During this difficult time I not only became more body conscious and grateful for the tiniest thing it allows me to do but also, in great anguish, been watching my triceps get flabbier and flabbier while my weight crept up…

I started over mid-September at 137 lbs (5.8 height).  I noticed huge amounts of untapped energy simmering under my skin but due to the increased fat volume, I wasn’t able to be fast and go for long.  So, I did research and soon discovered and started incorporating high intensity intervals.  Two months later, I am in the best shape of my life, stronger and more defined. I’ve stabilized at 134 lbs but my body fat levels have plunged and muscle mass visibly increased. I also have much more energy and my mood’s been more stable. My goal now is to share what I’ve learned and discovered with others and help people shed weight in a healthy, balanced way.  I really can’t wait to share with you the exercises I’ve been doing that usually include very classical moves like pushups and squats strung in a precise sequence. One thing I learned from my recent experience is that it is about intensity not how long you work out.  And also, it is also about sound nutrition, not restriction. It’s not about taking shortcuts but doing it in a healthy, sustainable way!

More to come…

4 thoughts on “Taking a HIIT

    • Hi there! I found that I got the best results when I really watched my diet. Other than that, my legs and shouders got more toned. Currently I am doing HIIT and I see way better results, spending less time workign out and eating way more food. Every now and then I still incorporate TAM’s exercises. Hope this helps! Good luck! I beleive that all forms of exercise are good, but some are more effective than others.

      Like

Leave a Reply

